Fractional Rate Calculator UK · Day Rate to Annual Salary

Fractional executive rates by role and engagement

What fractional, interim and full-time executives cost in the UK: published day rates for CFO, CTO, COO, CMO, CPO, CHRO and CISO roles, each with its source, and a fractional rate calculator that turns any day rate into a year-one cost against a loaded full-time hire.

Below it, day rate to annual salary, monthly and hourly — with every assumption named.

  • 220 days a year · our assumption
  • 7.5 hours a day · our assumption
  • 15% employer NI above £5,000 · HMRC
  • 3–5 candidates on every shortlist

How a brief runswhat we undertake

  1. 01Brief30-MINUTE SCOPING CALLDay 0
  2. 02Shortlist of 3–5VETTED · RATE BENCHMARK · IR35After the brief
  3. 03InterviewsYOU MEET THE SHORTLISTYour diary
  4. 04Scoped startFIRST-MONTH OUTCOMES AGREEDYou set the date
  5. 05Fractional, interim and permanentIR35 POSITION SET OUTOn every brief

Shortlist3–5

£700–1,400
Fractional CFO day rate — the calculator’s worked example
FD Capital, 2026
£800–1,400
Fractional COO day rate
Connectd, 2026
£949 vs £830
Average interim day rate, outside vs inside IR35
IIM survey, 2026
15%
Employer NI on a salary above £5,000 — none on a day rate
HMRC, 2026/27

15 minutes · video or phone

Book 15 minutes to talk through the brief

Tell us the scope and the days a week. We come back with fractional executive candidates, their day rates and availability.

  1. 0115 minutes, video or phone
  2. 02We scope the role and the days a week
  3. 03A shortlist of 3–5 after the call
  4. 04Fractional, interim and permanent briefs
Prefer email? Use the booking page →

Pick a day that suits · live availability

Fractional Quest is a fractional recruitment agency: send a brief and we come back with a shortlist of three to five vetted candidates.

01/ the board

What the board holds.

A read of the roles on the board above, counted as they stand: how each is engaged, whether the posting gives the days and the rate, and where the work happens.

On this board, last 90 days · 9 roles · Fractional executive

Engagement

  • Fractional8
  • Interim1

Seat

  • CFO2
  • Finance director1
  • COO1
  • General counsel1
  • Financial controller1
  • CTO1
  • Other seats2

Days a week

  • Stated in the posting3
  • Not stated6

Day rate

  • Verified rate0
  • Estimated (est)6
  • Rate not stated3

Work arrangement (as the job feed classifies it)

  • Remote0
  • Hybrid6
  • On-site3

Newest posting on the board: 12 Oct 2026.

Postings per week on this board, last 90 days

this week: 813 weeks agonow

9 postings on this board in the last 90 days, counted by the week each was published.

02/ the route

Fractional, interim or permanent?

Four taps. The answer names the route for the seat and the page that covers it.

How much of the week does the work fill?
Is there a fixed end or a programme?
Does the seat sit on the board for years?
Is the need now, or can it wait for a search?

The route · Fractional

A fractional executive.

The work fills part of the week, so buy the days it needs.

A fractional executive holds the seat on agreed days for as long as the seat is needed, and works for other clients on the rest.

03/ the calculator

Fractional rate calculator.

Day rate × days a week × weeks a year against a loaded full-time package. The slider works for any role’s day rate — set it to a COO, CTO, CMO or CISO figure from the tables below. The benchmark band and the full-time comparator are a worked CFO example (FD Capital; Robert Half 2026 and HMRC).

Days a week needed2 days

£1,000 a day is within the published band for a UK fractional executive (£700–£1,400, worked CFO example: fractional CFO band, FD Capital 2026).

Year-one cost

£92,000

2 d/wk · 46 weeks · day fees, before tax

Fractional executive£92,000
Full-time executive, loaded£202,225

Fractional costs less in year one£110,225

Fractional executive, year one£92,000

Full-time executive, loaded£202,225

Book a 15-minute call →

Our arithmetic, indicative. Worked CFO example. Full-time CFO = £202,225: the £176,500 Robert Half 2026 UK median salary plus employer NI at 15% above the £5,000 threshold (HMRC). Excludes pension, bonus and a search fee, so any saving shown is the conservative one. For a COO, compare against £132,179 on the same method (Glassdoor average base £115,590, via Intelligent People) — see the COO section.

04/ conversions

Day rate to annual salary.

A day rate becomes an annual figure by multiplying it by the days actually billed: days a week × working weeks.

We use 220 working days a year for a full-time contractor — 52 weeks × 5 is 260 weekdays, and 220 leaves 40 for holiday, bank holidays and gaps between contracts.

That is our assumption, a convention, not a published standard.

The IIM’s 2026 survey found the average interim manager billed 148 days in the year (IIM), so the second tab shows what a day rate grosses at that.

Hourly figures divide by a 7.5-hour day, also our assumption.

Day rateA year at 220 daysBasis
£600 a day£132,000£600 × 220 — our arithmetic
£650 a day£143,000£650 × 220 — our arithmetic
£700 a day£154,000£700 × 220 — our arithmetic
£750 a day£165,000£750 × 220 — our arithmetic
£800 a day£176,000£800 × 220 — our arithmetic
£850 a day£187,000£850 × 220 — our arithmetic
£900 a day£198,000£900 × 220 — our arithmetic
£1,000 a day£220,000£1,000 × 220 — our arithmetic
£1,200 a day£264,000£1,200 × 220 — our arithmetic
Fractional COO, £800–£1,400 a day£176,000–£308,000Connectd 2026 band × 220 — our arithmetic

Gross billings are not a salary. At 220 days, £800 a day grosses £176,000 — but a contractor funds their own holiday, pension, sick days and the gaps between contracts out of it, so it does not buy the same year as a £176,000 salary. The IIM’s dated rule of thumb runs the other way: a day rate of about 1% of the equivalent full-time salary, so £80,000 → ~£800 a day (IIM guide, 2019). Two very different answers from the same £800. The gap is roughly what a day rate has to cover — unpaid holiday, pension, gaps between contracts — our reading, not a sourced split. £220 a day, for comparison, is £29.33 an hour at 7.5 hours, or £31.43 at 7 — FD Capital’s implied hourly rates use a 7-hour day (FD Capital), so any hourly figure is a convention. All our arithmetic.

05/ the top question

COO calculator: what a fractional COO costs, in numbers.

The calculator above runs on any day rate.

For a Chief Operating Officer, here are the published inputs and the sums, each with its source.

The day rate.

For fractional COO rates, Connectd publishes a UK band of £800–£1,400 a day (2026), and splits it by experience: £600–£750 at entry (0–2 years fractional), £900–£1,050 mid-market (3–7 years) and £1,100–£1,400 senior (8+ years).

An interim COO — full-time, for a fixed period — is £800–£2,000 a day in Exec Capital’s 2026 guide.

The year.

Two days a week across 46 weeks at the Connectd band is £73,600–£128,800 in day fees; at the mid-market £900–£1,050 it is £82,800–£96,600 — our arithmetic.

The comparator.

Glassdoor puts the average UK COO base salary at £115,590, on a range of £81,000–£162,000 (via Intelligent People).

Add employer National Insurance at 15% above £5,000 (HMRC) and the average becomes £132,179 before pension, bonus or a search fee — our arithmetic.

Set the calculator to your COO day rate and compare the year-one cost against that figure rather than the CFO example.

Where it flips.

At £1,000 a day, two days a week comes in below that comparator; three days a week comes out above it: at that density a full-time COO is the cheaper answer on these numbers.

Our arithmetic, indicative.

More on the seat: hire a fractional COO, fractional COO cost and fractional COO salary.

06/ rates by role

Interactive rate comparison across all executive roles.

Published bands only, each with its source, from the same rate table the rest of the site uses.

Switch between fractional, interim and a full-time salary expressed per day.

Type your own day rate into the chart to see where it sits against each band.

Published UK day-rate bands · £ a day
  • CFO fractional£700–£1,400FD Capital 2026
  • CFO interim£650–£1,500FD Capital 2026
  • CTO fractional£1,000–£1,600Leadership Services 2026
  • CTO interim£800–£1,800Exec Capital 2026
  • COO fractional£800–£1,400Connectd 2026
  • COO interim£800–£2,000Exec Capital 2026
  • CMO fractional£750–£1,400Connectd 2026
  • CMO interim£700–£2,000Exec Capital 2026
  • CHRO interim (London contract)£900–£1,500Robert Walters 2026
  • CISO fractional£1,200–£2,000Optima Europe
  • CISO interim (contract)£1,000–£1,500+Barclay Simpson
Published fractional bandPublished interim band
RoleFractional day rateSource
CFO / Finance Director£700–£1,400FD Capital 2026
CTO£1,000–£1,600Leadership Services 2026
COO£800–£1,400Connectd 2026
CMO£750–£1,400Connectd 2026
CISO / Security Head£1,200–£2,000Optima Europe

The full-time tab is a salary divided by 220 working days — our arithmetic, not a day rate anyone charges, and before employer NI or pension. No source we hold publishes a fractional day band for a CPO or a CHRO, so neither is in the fractional tab or charted as fractional; for a CPO, fractional-csuite publishes an hourly band of £95–£255 (fractional-csuite) — see the fractional CPO hourly rate. Our sources publish no interim CPO band. Bands are what the sources publish — planning ranges and asking prices, not transacted rates or a percentile.

07/ by the month

Monthly cost breakdown by engagement model.

What each published fractional band comes to a month at one, two and three days a week — day rate × days × 46 weeks ÷ 12, our arithmetic — next to the monthly retainers two sources publish.

Compare them: FD Capital’s two-day CFO retainer (£5,000–£8,000) sits below two days at its own day-rate band (£5,367–£10,733).

RoleA month (our arithmetic, or as published)Band and source
CFO / Finance Director£2,683–£5,367FD Capital 2026 £700–£1,400 × 1 × 46 ÷ 12
CFO retainer, 1 day a week (published)£2,500–£4,000FD Capital 2026
CTO£3,833–£6,133Leadership Services 2026 £1,000–£1,600 × 1 × 46 ÷ 12
COO£3,067–£5,367Connectd 2026 £800–£1,400 × 1 × 46 ÷ 12
CMO£2,875–£5,367Connectd 2026 £750–£1,400 × 1 × 46 ÷ 12
CISO / Security Head£4,600–£7,667Optima Europe £1,200–£2,000 × 1 × 46 ÷ 12

Connectd puts fractional monthly retainers in general at £5,000–£16,000 (Connectd, 2026). Cost guides by role: fractional CFO cost · fractional CTO cost · fractional CMO cost · fractional COO cost.

08/ like for like

What a day rate includes — and what a salary carries that it doesn’t.

Comparing a day rate with a salary means comparing two different bundles.

The day rate is the whole invoice; the salary is only the start of what an employee costs.

Holiday.

A salary pays for holiday and bank holidays.

A contractor’s day rate is paid only for days worked — which is why an annual figure should multiply by the days actually billed (our 220, or the IIM’s 148) and never by 260 weekdays.

Pension.

An employer pays pension contributions on top of a salary.

A contractor funds their own pension out of the day rate.

Our full-time comparator leaves pension out, so the saving the calculator shows is the conservative one.

Employer National Insurance.

An employer pays secondary Class 1 NI at 15% on salary above £5,000 a year in 2026/27 (HMRC).

A fractional executive invoicing through their own company carries none of it for the client.

On the £176,500 Robert Half 2026 median CFO salary (Robert Half) that is £25,725 — our arithmetic.

Recruitment.

A permanent hire through retained search costs 25–35% of the candidate’s approximate first-year base salary (Headhunters.co.uk, 2026).

What the day rate does include.

The executive’s time and judgement, and the costs of running their own business — equipment, insurance, accountancy.

No sick pay, no paid leave.

Travel is usually agreed in the contract: light travel is often absorbed, overnight stays and extensive travel are typically charged separately.

IR35.

Whether the engagement sits inside or outside the off-payroll rules changes what the same day rate is worth to the executive — covered in the next section.

09/ ir35

Inside or outside IR35: what it does to a day rate.

IR35 status turns on how the engagement runs, not on the rate or the title.

Where the client is medium or large, the client makes the determination; since 6 April 2026 a client counts as small if it meets two of: turnover up to £15m, balance sheet up to £7.5m, 50 employees or fewer — and then the contractor’s own company decides (HMRC off-payroll guidance; BDO).

Reference: HMRC IR35 guidance and the CEST tool.

See the IR35 guide.

01 / CONTROL

Who controls the “how”

HMRC looks at whether the company directs how, when and where the work is done, or only defines the outcome and leaves the method to the executive.

✓ In the contract

02 / SUBSTITUTION

Right of substitution

HMRC looks at whether the executive could send a suitably qualified substitute, and whether that right is real in practice.

✓ In the contract

03 / MUTUALITY

Mutuality of obligation

HMRC looks at whether the company must offer further work beyond the agreed scope, and whether the executive must accept it.

✓ In the contract

£750 a day inside IR35 is not £750 outside

Inside IR35 the fee-payer deducts income tax and National Insurance from the payment as it would for an employee, so the same £750 a day takes home less than it would outside (HMRC). Rates themselves differ too: the IIM’s 2026 survey put the average interim day rate at £949 outside IR35 and £830 inside (IIM). How much less a given rate nets depends on the executive’s own tax position — ask an accountant, not a calculator.

Status follows the engagement

Status turns on how the engagement runs day to day. We set out the IR35 position on every brief before anyone is approached; where the client is medium or large, the determination is the client’s.

10/ how the numbers are built

Rate calculation methodology.

How every figure on this page is made, so you can check it.

Every band comes from one rate table that the rest of the site also reads, and every row names its source: FD Capital, Fractional Quest, Connectd, Exec Capital, Optima Europe, Barclay Simpson and Robert Walters for day rates; Robert Half, Glassdoor (via Intelligent People), Exec Capital and ITJobsWatch for salaries.

Where no source publishes a band — a fractional CPO or CHRO day rate, an interim CPO — the row is left out rather than filled.

The assumptions are ours, and named: 220 working days a year for an annual figure; a 7.5-hour day for an hourly one; 46 working weeks for a fractional year (the calculator’s default, which you can change).

The full-time comparator is a salary plus employer NI at 15% above £5,000 (HMRC) — no multiplier, no pension or benefits estimate, because we hold no source for one.

What we do not do: compute percentiles, run a rate index, or grade anyone’s rate.

We have made no placements, so no figure here comes from placement data.

What we undertake on a brief: a shortlist of 3–5, each candidate through the five stages on how we vet, with day rate and IR35 position set out.

Salary guides we draw on include Robert Half’s UK salary guide.

To talk through a specific brief, book a call or contact us.

11/ for executives

How to set your fractional executive rate.

Setting a rate, and raising it later, from the published bands rather than from a past salary.

Start from the published band for your seat.

Connectd’s guide to setting a fractional executive day rate splits each role by experience — for a fractional COO, £600–£750 at entry, £900–£1,050 mid-market and £1,100–£1,400 senior — so place yourself by your fractional track record as well as by title.

The IIM’s dated rule of thumb gives a cross-check from the other direction: a day rate of about 1% of the equivalent full-time salary (IIM guide, 2019).

Then check what the rate has to carry.

A day rate funds your holiday, pension, the gaps between contracts and the cost of running your own company — see what a day rate includes.

Use the calculator’s “I’m an executive” view to see what a rate grosses at the days a week you can realistically sell, and read it at the IIM’s 148-day average as well as at our 220.

Raising your rate as a fractional executive.

The cleanest moment is a change of scope or a new client, not the middle of an engagement.

Put the rate review in the contract — when it happens and the notice you will give — so a rise is a scheduled conversation rather than a surprise; existing clients can stay on their rate while new ones start at the new one.

Specialism moves a rate too: FD Capital publishes a higher band for PE, VC and fundraising CFOs than for fractional CFOs generally (see the FAQ below).

This is our reading of how rates move, not a published rule.

Tax sits on top of the rate, not inside it.

If your company is registered for VAT, VAT is added to the invoice.

And whatever you charge, IR35 status still turns on how the engagement runs — see the IR35 section above.

12/ retainers

What is a typical retainer structure for a fractional executive?

How a retainer is built, what the published figures show, and how fractional executives get paid.

A retainer buys a fixed number of days for a fixed monthly fee; a day rate bills the days actually worked.

Most fractional executive retainers come down to three terms: the days (usually expressed as days a week), what happens to unused days (roll over within a period, or lapse), and the notice either side can give.

Agree all three in writing — a retainer with no rule for unused days becomes an argument.

The published figures show the structure more than a single price.

FD Capital publishes CFO retainers by days a week — £2,500–£4,000 a month for one day, £5,000–£8,000 for two and £10,000–£15,000 for three or more (FD Capital); a one-to-two-day CTO retainer is £3,000–£7,000; Connectd gives £5,000–£16,000 across roles (Connectd).

FD Capital’s two-day retainer sits below two days at its own day-rate band — one reading is that a retainer trades some rate for predictable income.

See the monthly breakdown for every role.

How fractional executives get paid.

Usually by invoice from their own limited company — monthly for a retainer, or for the days worked on a day rate.

GOV.UK’s invoicing guidance sets out what an invoice must show, and where no payment date is agreed the law treats a business payment as late once a set period has passed (GOV.UK: late commercial payments), so write payment terms into the contract.

Where an engagement is inside IR35, the fee-payer deducts income tax and National Insurance before paying.

Seat by seat: fractional CFO cost, fractional CTO cost and fractional COO cost.

14/ questions

Rates and conversions, answered.

Questions from companies costing a fractional hire, and from executives converting a day rate.

It depends on the seat and the days.

Published monthly retainers: a fractional CFO at £2,500–£4,000 a month for one day a week, £5,000–£8,000 for two and £10,000–£15,000 for three or more (FD Capital, 2026); a fractional CTO at £3,000–£7,000 for one to two days.

On day rates, two days a week across 46 weeks at FD Capital’s £700–£1,400 CFO band is £5,367–£10,733 a month — our arithmetic.

The monthly breakdown sets out every role.

We take a published salary and add employer National Insurance at 15% above £5,000 (HMRC, 2026/27).

For a CFO on the £176,500 Robert Half 2026 median that is £202,225; for a COO on Glassdoor’s £115,590 average base (via Intelligent People), £132,179 — our arithmetic.

We leave out pension, bonus, benefits and a search fee because we hold no source for a general figure, so the comparator is conservative.

A retained search would add 25–35% of approximate first-year base salary (Headhunters.co.uk, 2026).

We no longer use a single “loaded” multiplier.

The seat first — the published bands differ by role (see the rate comparison).

Then experience: Connectd splits the fractional COO band into £600–£750 at entry, £900–£1,050 mid-market and £1,100–£1,400 senior (Connectd, 2026).

Then specialism and location: FD Capital puts PE, VC and fundraising CFOs at £1,200–£1,600 a day and says London-based companies pay fractional CFOs a 15–20% premium (FD Capital); regional CTO engagements run £200–£400 a day below London.

Engagement structure matters too — see IR35 below.

It depends on the role, the day rate and the days per week, so there is no single percentage — which is why the calculator shows your own numbers.

Two worked examples, our arithmetic: a CFO at £1,000 a day, two days a week across 46 weeks, comes in well below the £202,225 loaded CFO comparator (Robert Half 2026 median plus HMRC employer NI).

A COO at the same rate and days is below its £132,179 comparator; at three days a week it is above it, and a full-time hire is the cheaper answer.

Run your own role, days and rate through the calculator.

The bands are what their sources publish, and most do not say.

What we know: the IIM’s 2026 survey put the average interim day rate at £949 outside IR35 and £830 inside (IIM).

Status depends on how the engagement runs, not on the rate, and we set out the IR35 position on every brief.

HMRC’s guidance: IR35 — find out if it applies.

Both.

Day rates suit project work and irregular weeks; retainers suit an ongoing seat with a predictable rhythm.

FD Capital publishes both for CFOs: £700–£1,400 a day, or £2,500–£4,000 a month for one day a week up to £10,000–£15,000 for three or more (FD Capital, 2026).

Connectd puts monthly retainers generally at £5,000–£16,000 (Connectd, 2026).

FD Capital’s two-day retainer sits below two days a week at its own day-rate band — £5,367–£10,733 a month, our arithmetic.

The published bands overlap more than they differ: CFO £700–£1,400 fractional against £650–£1,500 interim (both FD Capital); CTO £1,000–£1,600 against £800–£1,800 (Exec Capital); COO £800–£1,400 fractional (Connectd) against £800–£2,000 interim (Exec Capital).

The IIM’s 2026 average interim day rate is £907 (IIM).

The real difference is density: an interim works five days a week for a fixed period, a fractional executive one to three, so the annual cost diverges far more than the day rate.

The executive’s time, expertise and strategic input, and the costs of running their own business — equipment, insurance, accountancy.

There is no holiday pay, sick pay or employer pension: those come out of the rate.

Light travel is often absorbed; extensive travel or overnight stays are typically charged separately or built into project pricing — agree it in the contract.

See what a day rate includes.

Yes.

Set the day rate to your COO figure — Connectd publishes £800–£1,400 a day for a fractional COO, £900–£1,050 mid-market (Connectd, 2026) — and choose the days a week.

The calculator’s full-time comparator is the CFO example, so compare the year-one cost against £132,179 instead: Glassdoor’s £115,590 average UK COO base (via Intelligent People) plus employer NI — our arithmetic.

The COO section has the worked numbers; to hire, see fractional COO.

Brief us on the role, the days a week and the budget.

We search against that brief, take candidates through the five stages on how we vet, and come back with a shortlist of 3–5, each with day rate, availability and IR35 position set out.

To compare agencies first, see fractional executive search firms and how a fractional recruitment agency works.

A fixed number of days a month for a fixed monthly fee, with three terms agreed in writing: the days, what happens to unused days, and the notice either side gives.

Published examples: FD Capital’s CFO retainers of £2,500–£4,000 a month for one day a week up to £10,000–£15,000 for three or more (FD Capital), and Connectd’s £5,000–£16,000 across roles (Connectd).

The retainer section sets out the structure and how payment works.

Connectd publishes fractional COO rates of £800–£1,400 a day (2026): £600–£750 at entry, £900–£1,050 mid-market and £1,100–£1,400 senior.

An interim COO, full-time for a fixed period, is £800–£2,000 a day (Exec Capital, 2026).

These are published bands, not rates we have observed.

Against a full-time COO, compare the year-one cost with £132,179 — Glassdoor’s £115,590 average UK COO base (via Intelligent People) plus employer NI, our arithmetic — as the COO section sets out.

Book 15 minutes · shortlist of 3–5

Run the numbers.
Then bring the brief.

A shortlist of 3–5. Five-stage vetting. IR35 position on every brief.

For hiring companies

Book a call or submit a brief for any C-suite seat; we come back with a shortlist of 3–5 candidates.

For fractional executives

Browse the fractional executive roles from our jobs feed, or get in touch about the searches we run.

For hiring managers

Bring the brief. We bring the shortlist.

Sign up now →Book a call

  1. A shortlist of 3–5, each with day rate, availability and IR35 position
  2. Fractional, interim, part-time, temporary or permanent — and non-executive directors
  3. Every candidate through our five-stage vetting
  4. Your briefs and their candidates, in one room
Fractional Quest logo — fractional executive rate calculator, fractional day rate calculator UK