CISO salary · permanent base, bonus and package

What a CISO earns, in base salary, bonus and package

A permanent CISO salary has a median of £135,250 across the country and £184,000 in London, in Robert Half’s 2026 salary guide.

Its national range runs from £96,250 to £161,750 in base pay.

Exec Capital’s 2026 technology guide puts CISO base pay at £120,000–£200,000 in the mid-market and £200,000–£400,000+ at large, regulated or listed firms.

Size, sector and regulation move the figure more than the title does.

Bonus, pension and equity sit on top of base.

When you hire a CISO through us, permanent, interim or fractional, we send a shortlist of 3–5, each with pay or day rate, availability and IR35 position set out.

How a brief runswhat we undertake

  1. 01Brief30-MINUTE SCOPING CALLDay 0
  2. 02Shortlist of 3–5VETTED · RATE BENCHMARK · IR35After the brief
  3. 03InterviewsYOU MEET THE SHORTLISTYour diary
  4. 04Scoped startFIRST-MONTH OUTCOMES AGREEDYou set the date
  5. 05Fractional, interim and permanentIR35 POSITION SET OUTOn every brief

Shortlist3–5

£135,250
CISO salary, national · median base; range £96,250–£161,750
Robert Half, 2026
£184,000
CISO salary, London · median base; range £131,000–£220,000
Robert Half, 2026
£120,000–£200,000
Mid-market base · indicative range
Exec Capital, 2026
3–5
Shortlist · with pay or day rate, availability and IR35 set out

15 minutes · video or phone

Book 15 minutes to hire a CISO

Tell us the scope and the days a week. We come back with CISO candidates, their day rates and availability.

  1. 0115 minutes, video or phone
  2. 02We scope the role and the days a week
  3. 03A shortlist of 3–5 after the call
  4. 04Fractional, interim and permanent briefs
Prefer email? Use the booking page →

Pick a day that suits · live availability

Roles on the board: security leadership

How fractional recruitment agencies compare is set out in one place, including how we work: a CISO brief and a shortlist of three to five.

01/ the cross

Where a permanent hire becomes cheaper.

Move the day rate and the days a week: the rising line is a month of part-week cost, the flat line a permanent hire’s month. Where they cross, the seat should go full-time.

Fractional CISO, a monthPermanent CISO, a month

At 2.4 days a week a permanent hire costs less.

£0k£9k£17k£26k£35k0.511.522.5345days a week →
At 2 days a week: fractional CISO £13,856 a month · permanent £16,343 a month

Our arithmetic. Permanent a month = the salary ÷ 12 plus 15% employer NI, plus the 30% search fee spread over 12 months — the calculator’s inputs. Hover, tap or use the arrow keys for each step.

Permanent = the £135,250 Robert Half 2026 median salary. The full calculator below adds the months, the totals and the currency tabs.

Fractional CISO at 2 days a weekInterim CISO, five days a weekPermanent CISO
  • The fractional CISO at 2 days a week never passes permanent inside 24 months.
  • Interim passes permanent at month 3.
£0k£162k£325k£487k£650k06121824months →
Month 12: fractional CISO £166,272 · interim £324,750 · permanent £196,113

Our arithmetic, cumulative. Permanent = the salary’s 30% search fee in month 0, then salary ÷ 12 plus 15% employer NI each month. Interim = the midpoint of the published interim band (£1,250 a day, Barclay Simpson) × 5 days × 4.33 weeks. Hover, tap or use the arrow keys for each month.

02/ the role

What the seat is, and what sets the pay

A chief information security officer owns the organisation’s information and cyber security: the strategy, the risk picture the board sees, and the response when something goes wrong.

The government’s Digital and Data capability framework describes the role as advising the board on how to mitigate risk and making sure the organisation can detect, respond to and recover from an attack.

For the full remit, see what a CISO does.

The title covers very different jobs.

One CISO builds the first controls at a scale-up.

Another reports to the risk committee of a bank and answers to regulators.

That is why the published ranges are wide.

Exec Capital publishes the mid-market seat at £120,000–£200,000 and the large, regulated or listed seat at £200,000–£400,000+, with a premium at FCA-authorised firms.

Board accountability has raised the stakes.

The government’s Cyber Governance Code of Practice, launched in April 2025, sets out what directors should do to govern cyber risk.

A CISO who reports to the board against it carries more personal accountability than a head of security inside IT, and is paid for it.

The seat below is head of information security.

Barclay Simpson’s 2026 guide puts it at £150k+ for a department of more than ten, and £100k–£160k for a smaller one.

The same guide lists a Global or EMEA CISO at £180k+.

Pay the scope and the reporting line, not the title.

03/ scope

How to hire a CISO on a permanent basis

1. Write down the risk, then the role

Say what must be protected, which regulators and customers are asking questions, and who the role reports to.

A brief that says "board reporting and regulator contact" draws a different shortlist from one that says "build the security function".

2. Choose the route

A permanent CISO suits a business that needs a security owner every day.

For a defined gap, such as an incident or a vacancy, hire an interim CISO.

For board-level security for part of the week, see fractional CISO jobs.

The open roles on our board are on the CISO jobs page.

3. Set base, bonus and equity together

Optima Europe’s 2026 benchmarks put bonus at 20–40% of base in financial services, 15–25% in technology and SaaS, and 10–20% at scale-ups, where equity does more of the work.

Put the targets, the bonus basis and any notice period in the offer.

4. Test for evidence

Ask for a board paper they wrote, a strategy they delivered and an incident they led from first alert to lessons learned.

Certifications show knowledge; the UK Cyber Security Council, the profession’s Royal Charter body, awards professional titles up to Chartered.

None replaces a track record.

What we do on a CISO brief

We recruit permanent, interim, fractional, part-time and temporary security leaders, and non-executive directors.

We send a shortlist of 3–5, each with pay or day rate, availability and IR35 position set out, and every candidate goes through our five-stage vetting first.

04/ the maths

What the seat costs, by the days a week

Move the day rate, the days a week and the months: the totals and the permanent comparison for the period. The curve above shows where a permanent hire becomes the cheaper seat.

The slider runs across the published band for a fractional CISO: £1,200–£2,000 a day (Optima Europe).

Cost over 12 months

£166,400

104 working days · 2 d/wk · 12 mo · before tax

Fractional CISO£166,400
Permanent CISO, same period£196,113

Fractional costs less over 12 months£29,713

Fractional CISO, 12 months£166,400

Fractional CISO, a month at 2 d/wk£13,856

Permanent CISO, same period£196,113

Book a 15-minute call →

Our arithmetic, indicative. Permanent = the £135,250 Robert Half 2026 median salary pro rata for the same months, plus 15% employer NI, plus a 30% search fee on the annual base (UK retained search runs 25–35%, Headhunters.co.uk). Excludes pension, bonus and equity.

05/ the week

How a week divides.

The days you buy are yours; the rest of the week goes to other clients. Move the days a week in the calculator above and the week redraws.

Your companyAnother clientA third client

Illustration only: one way a fractional CISO’s week can divide at 2 days a week for you. Each block is half a day.

06/ the board

What the board holds.

A read of the roles on the board on this page, counted as they stand: how each is engaged, whether the posting gives the days and the rate, and where the work happens.

On this board, last 90 days · 1 role · CISO roles

Engagement

  • Fractional1

Days a week

  • Stated in the posting1
  • Not stated0

Day rate

  • Verified rate0
  • Estimated (est)1
  • Rate not stated0

Work arrangement (as the job feed classifies it)

  • Remote1
  • Hybrid0
  • On-site0

Newest posting on the board: 27 Sept 2026.

07/ rates by stage

CISO salary by source, size and location

Permanent base salary only, before bonus, pension and equity. Robert Half publishes projected starting salaries; Exec Capital, Optima Europe and Barclay Simpson publish recruiters’ ranges. Each figure is quoted as its source publishes it, 2026 editions.

SeatBase salaryBasisSource
CISO, national£96,250–£161,750Range; median £135,250Robert Half, 2026
CISO, London£131,000–£220,000Range; median £184,000Robert Half, 2026
CISO, mid-market£120,000–£200,000Standalone security leadership; indicativeExec Capital, 2026
CISO, large / regulated / listed£200,000–£400,000+FS, fintech and critical infrastructure premiumExec Capital, 2026
CISO, SME£110,000–£145,000Revenue up to €500mOptima Europe, 2026
CISO, mid-market£145,000–£185,000Revenue €500m–€2bnOptima Europe, 2026
CISO, large enterprise£185,000–£260,000Revenue above €2bnOptima Europe, 2026
CISO, VC-backed scale-up£115,000–£165,000Equity usually on topOptima Europe, 2026
CISO, Global / EMEA£180k+Central London, national and fully remote alikeBarclay Simpson, 2026
Head of Information Security£100k–£160k / £150k+Department under 10 / above 10Barclay Simpson, 2026

08/ economics

The package: what a permanent CISO costs on top of base

Employer’s National Insurance is 15% on earnings above £5,000 a year for 2026 to 2027 (HMRC rates and thresholds).

On Robert Half’s national median of £135,250, that is £19,537.50 a year: our arithmetic, 15% of £130,250, before any bonus.

Pension comes next.

The legal minimum is an employer contribution of 3% on qualifying earnings under automatic enrolment (GOV.UK).

Optima Europe says UK employers typically pay 5–12% of salary for a CISO.

Bonus and equity depend on the sector.

Optima Europe puts bonus at 20–40% of base in financial services and 15–25% in technology.

At UK scale-ups it reports EMI option grants of 0.3–0.8% for a CISO, often vesting over four years.

09/ vetting

How we vet CISOs

What we undertake on every brief, before a candidate reaches you.

  1. 01

    Qualification screen

    Verify CISO tenure, sector context and stage fit.

    SOURCING
  2. 02

    Mandate fit

    Match to your situation — stage, board dynamics, timing.

    MATCHING
  3. 03

    Reference deep-dive

    We take references ourselves, from recent past clients — real outcomes, not titles.

    VERIFY
  4. 04

    Shortlist

    Three to five candidates with day rate, availability and IR35 position set out.

    SHORTLIST OF 3–5

10/ chief information security officer salary

Chief information security officer salary: by company size

Company size is the largest single driver of a chief information security officer salary.

Optima Europe’s 2026 benchmarks put UK base pay at £110,000–£145,000 at SMEs, £145,000–£185,000 in the mid-market and £185,000–£260,000 at large enterprises.

A VC-backed scale-up pays £115,000–£165,000, with equity on top.

Exec Capital draws the line differently but lands in the same place: £120,000–£200,000 for a mid-market CISO and £200,000–£400,000+ at large, regulated or listed firms.

Both are recruiters’ indicative ranges, not surveys, and each defines company size its own way.

In the public sector the seat is usually a senior civil service post: the DDaT framework places it at SCS 1 or SCS 2.

For an official view of earnings by occupation, the ONS Annual Survey of Hours and Earnings is the reference, though its occupation groups are broader than the CISO title.

11/ ciso salary london

CISO salary London and across the UK

Robert Half’s 2026 guide puts the CISO salary in London at a median of £184,000, with a range of £131,000 to £220,000.

Against that, its national CISO salary in the UK is a median of £135,250, ranging from £96,250 to £161,750.

The London median is £48,750 higher: our arithmetic on Robert Half’s two figures.

Exec Capital says London commands a premium of roughly 20–40% over equivalent regional roles across senior technology.

Financial services, fintech and critical infrastructure, which cluster in the capital, add their own premium.

Job-ad data is thin at this level.

ITJobsWatch, which counts salaries quoted in IT job ads, had too few permanent CISO ads with a salary in the six months to 8 August 2026 to publish a median, so this page does not quote one.

12/ permanent, interim or fractional

A permanent salary, an interim day rate or a fractional retainer

A permanent CISO is paid a salary and a package.

An interim CISO is paid a day rate for full-time cover over a fixed term, and a fractional CISO a day rate or retainer for part of the week.

The numbers are not comparable one for one: a contractor funds their own pension, holidays and gaps between assignments, and tax status depends on how the engagement runs.

Our interim CISO salary and fractional CISO salary pages set out each route’s pay, source by source, and the fractional CISO cost page works through what a part-time engagement costs.

For the interim role itself, see interim CISO; for the part-time one, fractional CISO.

13/ questions

CISO salary FAQ

The questions people ask before bringing in a CISO.

Robert Half’s 2026 guide gives a median CISO salary of £135,250 nationally, with a range of £96,250 to £161,750, and a London median of £184,000. These are base salaries. Bonus, pension and equity come on top.
Optima Europe’s 2026 benchmarks put UK CISO base pay at £110,000–£145,000 at SMEs, £145,000–£185,000 in the mid-market and £185,000–£260,000 at large enterprises. Exec Capital gives £120,000–£200,000 for the mid-market and £200,000–£400,000+ at large, regulated or listed firms.
Robert Half’s 2026 guide puts the chief information security officer salary in London at a median of £184,000, with a range of £131,000 to £220,000. Exec Capital says London pays roughly 20–40% more than equivalent regional senior technology roles.
Write down the risk and the reporting line first, then choose the route: permanent, interim or fractional. Set base, bonus and equity together, and test candidates on board papers, delivered strategies and incidents they led. See CISO jobs for the roles on our board.
Start with base pay: a median of £135,250 nationally in Robert Half’s 2026 guide. Add employer’s National Insurance at 15% above £5,000 a year, pension and bonus. Optima Europe puts bonus at 20–40% of base in financial services and 15–25% in technology. We set out pay or day rate for every candidate on the shortlist.
Usually. Optima Europe’s 2026 benchmarks put CISO bonus at 20–40% of base in financial services, 15–25% in technology and SaaS, and 10–20% at scale-ups, where equity such as EMI options does more of the work.
Usually, because the remit is wider. Barclay Simpson’s 2026 guide puts a head of information security at £100k–£160k for a department under ten and £150k+ for a larger one, and a Global or EMEA CISO at £180k+.

Book 15 minutes · shortlist of 3–5

Bring the brief. We architect the team.

A shortlist of 3–5 with day rate, availability and IR35 position set out, after five-stage vetting.

For hiring managers

Bring the brief. We bring the shortlist.

Sign up now →Book a call

  1. A shortlist of 3–5, each with day rate, availability and IR35 position
  2. Fractional, interim, part-time, temporary or permanent — and non-executive directors
  3. Every candidate through our five-stage vetting
  4. Your briefs and their candidates, in one room
Fractional Quest logo — how to hire a CISO, CISO salary